Share-PSI 2.0

Shared Standards for Open Data and Public Sector Information
1 Feb 2014– 31 Jul 2016
External identifier
FP7 621012

The objective of the Share-PSI 2.0 Thematic Network is to bring together a very broad range of stakeholders in the re-use of public sector information and to help them reach consensus on technical standards, complementing existing and ongoing initiatives in the domain. The network will focus particularly on implementing the new PSI Directive and includes government agencies and ministries from a variety of member states as well as standards bodies, academic institutions, commercial companies working in the field and organisations that effectively interface between government and citizens using open data as the medium. The network will identify the most appropriate standards to be used in the publication of open data, highlight the need for further standards work, and share experiences of using those standards.

Led by the W3C, the consortium includes the Open Group Foundation and Open Geospatial Consortium as fellow standards bodies plus the PSI Alliance, Open Knowledge Foundation, Open Data Institute and PwC as the primary contractor in the ISA Programme’s work on interoperability. Each of these represents a community with an interest in standards for commerce. Partners include 15 government ministries or agencies with direct responsibility for defining and implementing an open data strategy. Together with 21 academic bodies and SMEs with a direct role in advising and implementing the PSI Directive, the consortium represents a total of 25 countries plus Russia.

The output of the network will be a set of best practices developed by the key players across Europe and beyond. In almost every European country, a local version of the best practices will be available that acts as a guide for how to implement those practices within those countries. Overall the impact will therefore be the promotion and publication of a greater volume of more highly re-usable open data across Europe.


ERCIM/W3C, France
Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg
PricewaterhouseCoopers, Belgium
Institute Mihajlo Pupin, Serbia
Forum Virium Helsinki, Finland
DIFI, Agency of Public Management and eGovernment, Norway
University of Economics in Prague, Czech Republic
Ministry of Finance, Finland
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Malta Information Technology Agency, Malta
Ministry of Finance, Slovakia
University of the Aegean, Greece
Ministry of Finances and Public Administrations, Spain
Institute of Mathematics and Computer Science, Latvia
Agency for the Public Services Reforms, Portugal
Agenzia per l'Italia Digitale, Italy
Danube University Krems, Austria
CTIC Technology Centre, Spain
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Peter Krantz AB, Sweden
Fraunhofer, Germany
Digital Birmingham, UK
Politecnico di Torino, Italy
The Open Knowledge Foundation, UK
Estonian Information Systems Authority, Estonia
]init[, Germany
PSI Alliance, Belgium
The Scottish Government, UK
The Open Data Institute, UK
West University of Timisoara, Romania
The Hellenic Ministry of Administrative Reform and E-governance, Greece
The National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
The Open Group, Belgium
University of La Laguna, Spain
AMI Consult, Luxembourg
The Open Geospatial Consortium, UK
Co-ordination Cell Flemish e-Government, Belgium
UAB Linked Data, Lithuania
Slovenian Ministry of the Interior and Public Administration, Slovenia
Federal Chancellery, Austria
iMINDS, Belgium
National Research University Higher School of Economics, Russia



+36 1 279 6212